State Authorizations

National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements Logo

Educational institutions offering distance education classes or programs are required by federal regulations [Chapter 34, § 600.9(c)], to “meet any State requirements for it to be legally offering distance or correspondence education in that State.” As an approved NC-SARA institution, colleges are able to legally offer distance learning in all NC-SARA member states. Please follow this link for more information about SARA and to view the current list of states and U.S. territories participating in SARA. The University of Wyoming and the community colleges are working to obtain either exemption or authorization from the fifty states.

If you are not an on-campus student for these educational institutions and plan on enrolling in distance classes offered by one or more of them, please see the table below to verify that your state has either authorized or exempted the institution to offer such classes or programs to you as a resident of that state.

A = Authorized/Exempt | SARA = Reciprocal Agreement
I = In Progress | N = Not Authorized
WN = Will NOT Seek Authorization* | Blank = No information
California A A A
District of Columbia
Puerto Rico
U.S. Virgin Islands
All other states and US Territories: SARA

* Due to the high cost of obtaining authorization in some states, some institutions may decide to NOT seek authorization in that state. Prospective students living in those states should consult directly with the institution regarding possible enrollment.